Homearama Debuts Latest in Custom Private Library

    I visited this year’s Spring Homearama at Eagle’s Nest in Virginia Beach.  While most of the show was the same-ol’-same-ol’, there was one feature that truly stood out.  This little gem of a private library:

     I cannot say enough good things about this reading nook.  The deep, spacious shelves are a book-collector’s dream.  (That’s right – not all of us have converted to e-readers.)  The lighting in this room is excellent – just the right intensity and easy on the eyes.  Plus, there is a reasonable amount of wall space to display a favorite piece of artwork or two.

     Now, you may be thinking that this is a rather run-of-the mill reading nook.  I would submit to you that it is not.  One only needs to step back and take in the full picture to truly understand the genius of this arrangement.  This little library has something that most other rooms in the house lack.  In fact, that one feature is so important, it instantly increases the amount of time a person can spend in this room.

     Is it a refrigerator?

     No.

     Is it an oven?

     No.

     Is it a bed?

     If only.

     Is it a swimming pool?

     No, but that would actually be kind of cool.

     Is it a pantry well-stocked with PopTarts and Lil’ Debbie Snack Cakes?

     How much fatter do you want America to be?

     Well, what the heck is it [you must be asking by now]?

     Duhhhh…

     …it’s a toilet!

     Aaaaaaaand, you’re welcome.     

  

About SAS Fiction Girl

Writer of short fiction because I don't have the attention span to write anything longer.
This entry was posted in Fun & Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Homearama Debuts Latest in Custom Private Library

  1. pattisj says:

    Cute, Jen. I need more bookshelves, but it’s already a little cramped in that room in our house…
    What did you think of this spring’s Homearama?

    • Homearama was pretty un-spectacular, in my opinion. I don’t feel like I saw anything that I haven’t seen before. There was no wow-factor in landscaping, pools, outdoor kitchens, indoor paint techniques, furniture, etc. I did like a couple of the FROG home theaters. Meanwhile, the Schoch house, which is usually overdone, was a mess. They called it The Celebration House and stuffed it with crap. It looked like a hoarder’s dream. It was a hypermaterialistic consumerist explosion, with emphasis on celebrities, fame, and fashion. Then, laughably, they threw in a few religious quotes and Jesus-this-and-that. Guess what? I don’t think Jesus would have been impressed. In fact, he may have been peeved enough to tell them to clean that junk up.

  2. Evelyn says:

    I’m so proud. I forwarded your post to several of my best friends just to show you off. I’ll be off the rest of this week with wrist surgery, and it’s a crime not having email at home. What if I miss a post? This is worse than having to deal with reruns of House all summer.

    • You’re proud of my bathroom humor? That’s my sign that it’s time to raise the level of discourse around here!
      Don’t worry about missing any posts from me this week. I guarantee you there won’t be any. 🙂
      P.S. MORE wrist surgery? Yikes!

Leave a Reply

