I have awesome friends…

 …and that’s no joke.

     I’m willing to bet that many a blogger has pressed the Publish button on a work of literary art, dreaming of the day that a Hollywood talent scout or studio boss will stumble across his or her blog and marvel at the brilliance within. That could happen.

     It just didn’t happen to me. You see, yesterday’s announcement was a naughty prank. I even filed it in the Fun & Games category. Even so, the outpouring of kindness I received from my friends and fellow writers was awesome and a thing to behold. You ladies are the best! You cheered me on with your support and enthusiasm and – most touching – your confidence that I absolutely could pull off writing a movie.  And you believe in me enough that it wasn’t totally beyond the realm of possibility that I might be discovered through my blog. That was not lost on me, and I appreciate every sentiment because – unlike my post – your words were genuine.  And I do solemnly promise that I shall not yank thy chains again in like manner forthwith and without malice, cogito ergo sum, ipse dixit, requiescat in pace.  Amen.

     Naturally, you’ll all be mad at me. All except those who are secretly glad I didn’t garner any such Hollywood notice, because you’ve been hammering away at blogging a lot longer than I have and it just wouldn’t have been fair. And I understand that perfectly, because that’s exactly how I would feel.

     In fact, if I’m being honest (and today’s entry is non-fiction, after all), I must admit that I have been jealous on occasion over the Freshly Pressed issue. There have been a couple of times that I’ve clicked on a Freshly Pressed post to read “OMG, y’all – this is my very first blog post ever and it made it to the front page of WordPress!” Aaargh.

     Yeah, that happens. And it bugs me because I’ve been doing this for 9* months now, and how could the WordPress team not yet notice me among the bajillions of bloggers they host? To top it off, there are bloggers who are on the front page repeatedly. How is that even statistically possible?  

     And then there’s this: when I first signed up, I clicked on a Freshly Pressed post to discover that it contained exactly one sentence and a link to someone else’s blog. I flipped. Really??? One sentence and a link???  That’s just silly.

     Here is what I can expect, according to the front page: “The best of 407,418 bloggers, 429,880 new posts, 424,568 comments, & 96,478,347 words posted today on WordPress.com.”

     The best? I’m sorry folks, but a single sentence and a link don’t qualify, in my book. And who besides me was tricked into clicking on the ghost post a while back (also Freshly Pressed) that turned out to be nothing more than five sentences and a photograph of cigarette smoke?  There’s no way I could match that level of genius.  Or is there?

“Photo of the sun shining at night.  Do you see it?  It’s to the right of the tree. 
This photo isn’t doctored.  I have the original digital file as proof.”

     Awesome.  I think I’m ready to be Freshly Pressed.  And I know I’m ready to give up jealousy for Lent. 

     To my friends and fellow writers:  thank you again for your kind words. Your enthusiasm for another’s good fortune is proof of the greatness of the people in this community, and that’s a pretty good outcome for April 1st.   – Jen

     *Nine months includes my business blog, which I began in June 2010.
********************************************************************************

     So how about you?  Have you ever experienced a bout of Writer Envy? 

About SAS Fiction Girl

Writer of short fiction because I don't have the attention span to write anything longer.
This entry was posted in Excuses, SAS Exclusive and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I have awesome friends…

  1. suzicate says:

    You little turkey! I never for one second thought it was an April Fools joke because I have the utmost confidence in your talent…You are awesome. I am not mad at you. Who could get mad at you? BTW, you are the only one who got me yesterday!

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Okay, I’m going to make an ugly confession: I, too have suffered writer envy. I’d like to think that most people have from time to time, because it makes me feel less…wrong. You see, I’ve been conflicted at times because on one hand, I was truly happy for them, but then there was this pang of, “aw, when is it going to be my turn.”

    Easing up on myself about publication has lessened the severity of writer envy. I’ve read a few Freshly Pressed items, and I have noticed the occurrence of repeat authors featured, too. (I don’t read very often, but I do scan to see if anyone I “know” is featured.) I’ve also read some great blogs/posts that don’t get featured.

    Hang in there. Like everything in life, Freshly Pressed isn’t necessarily fair. But you have writing talent and some devoted readers, so I think you’re ahead of the game.

    • Blogging certainly has the upside of allowing us to meet other writers and share in the journey, but the downside is the little green monster that peeks out whenever another writer reaches a goal before us – even if we don’t share the same goal. All part of being human, I suppose. I’m still working on it.
      And thank you for your kind words, Janna. The really good thing about seeing others get Freshly Pressed is that’s when I get to meet cool people like you. 🙂

  3. pattisj says:

    You are quite the character, Jen. I think you’ll be in my book…

  4. Evelyn says:

    You stinker! And I was even spreading the word like a proud mama hen! Worse than that, I was hoping you would deign me “worthy” of helping out if you hit a wall! Now for my own confession . . . “Another Life”? Really? Hmm . . . yeah . . . that one was good . . . they all are . . . but it wasn’t the one I would have chosen for a movie. You actually could write a movie about a writer who played a practical joke on her friends, telling them she had been asked to write a screenplay, and when they all took it seriously (and threw her a huge congratulatory party complete with a new laptop, expensive software, a month on a cruise ship for relaxing privacy, etc., and that one had gone into deep debt with a loan shark to pay for it all), finds that she has to continue the charade . . . It would serve you right if THIS blog post got you on Freshly Pressed! 🙂 Ha-ha!

    • You poor woman – going all weekend long before finding out this was a hoax. You need to get some Internet out in the country!
      I already have a plan for the post that’s going to end up being Freshly Pressed. It’s going to be a close-up picture of a piece of salt on a pretzel. And the caption will read, “Aren’t we all?” That’ll get ’em talking!

Leave a Reply

