Am I A What Now?

To the person who visited my blog after searching the phrase “jennifer miele is she a christian”:

Yes, I believe in Christ.

You’re welcome.

About SAS Fiction Girl

Writer of short fiction because I don't have the attention span to write anything longer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Welcome and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Am I A What Now?

  1. Evelyn says:

    I somehow feel like I want to respond to this, though I’m not exactly sure what I want to say. (I guess that could be a sign that I should shut up!) I do want to make the point that one can be a Christian and not write overtly Christian material. For instance, John Grisham is a Christian, yet his novels are never shelved in the Inspirational or Christian section of the bookstore. HOWEVER, if one were to read Grisham’s novels from a certain perspective, one might note that he does write from a Christian worldview. For instance, I’ve noted that, in several of his novels, “greed” (or “the love of money”) has been the undoing of his protagonist. The nice guy sees an opportunity to “get rich quick”–albeit by somewhat nefarious means–and “falls into temptation.” But in the end, good triumphs over evil, and our hero learns his lesson and is redeemed (although he does have to take his lumps, as “sin” does have its consequences).

    My point–and yes, I did intend to have one–is that there are plenty of us “Christian” writers out here who may or may not choose to write “Christian” novels, poems, short stories, plays, etc. But that doesn’t make us any more or less holier than the writer who translates the Bible into another language. God has a purpose for all of us . . . and we can all nudge the world a bit . . . in our own ways. Some of us might just be a bit more subtle about it. Some of us might even entertain you into thinking like a Christian without you even realizing it.

    • pattisj says:

      Excellent response, Evelyn. We were not all cut out with a cookie cutter; how boring that would be! And how many writing projects would never be read because of where they were shelved?

    • This is an interesting topic, because I’m working on a dark story that does not end happily, but that’s because the characters are greedy. It’s a bit of a morality tale, of which Jesus was most fond.
      Also, there is the slightest possibility that the person seeking to find “Jennifer Miele’s” religion was looking for the Jennifer Miele who is a reporter out of WTAE in Pittsburgh. She went to school at St. Vincent College, which is a Catholic institution, so there is a good chance she is a Christian, if not specifically Catholic.

Leave a Reply

