Don’t Like Non-Fiction? Don’t Read This Post!

Subtitle:  Don’t Like Excuses?  Don’t Read This Post!

Dear Readers,

I promise I have not abandoned you.  I have spent the past couple of weeks working in fits and starts on a new story about a woman named Myrtle who wonders if the grass is greener on the other side…of the stratosphere.

Last week was a particular struggle for me.  My head felt empty, completely devoid of any creative thoughts.  For this story, I elected to reach into my personal experience and write about a strange object seen in the night sky. 

Meanwhile, I have had to summon the energy to write the second half of my most recent travel diary, to share with some pen pals.  It came to be that I used the diary as an excuse to not write the story and the story as an excuse to not write the diary.  What a terrible admission from a writer!

I finished the diary last night so, aside from signing Christmas cards, shopping for all the people on my list, folding laundry, and working at my paid job, there is nothing stopping me from writing about Myrtle.

I hope after all that, I can do her justice.  Stay tuned.  ~~  Jen

About SAS Fiction Girl

Writer of short fiction because I don't have the attention span to write anything longer.
This entry was posted in Excuses and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Don’t Like Non-Fiction? Don’t Read This Post!

  1. Evelyn says:

    What I love is that you can write stuff like this and make it interesting reading. That is the true sign of a good writer. No doubt you’ll continue improving to the point where people will one day stand in line for the opportunity to read your grocery list. 🙂

  2. Patti says:

    I’m so happy to see that the strange object in the night sky did not transport you to the other side of the stratosphere! The idea that some unfortunate occurrence had befallen you pricked at my brain; and so it is with much delight that I read your post today, reassured that all is well.

    • Thank you, Patti! I have been distracted lately. It’s a matter of getting my brain to settle down and concentrate, to finish a task. As it happens, my stories are a quick read, but they take a long time to write. 🙂 -Jen

  3. e6n1 says:

    What an intriguing premise! Best of luck to you.

Leave a Reply

