Six-word Stories

     Tuesday’s Writers’ Group Meeting brought a pleasant surprise:  Evelyn announced a writing contest based on the 6-Word Novel platform.  A famous example, attributed to Hemingway, is “For sale:  baby shoes, never worn.”  Julius Caesar was a master of the 3-word story in his day:  “Veni, vidi, vici.”  Today, that translates into a winning 6-word story:  “I came, I saw, I conquered.”  Cool.  If Caesar’s down with it, so am I.

     Evelyn gave me the go-ahead to publish some of my ideas which will not be entered in the contest.  I’ll share my entries after the New Year, when the contest has ended.  With the permission of the other writers, I’ll publish the winner and notable entries, as well.

     If the stories resemble headlines, there is a good reason:  newspaper headlines are micro-stories which provide just enough information to capture your interest.  Think about that and then try it yourself.

     Following are my early attempts.  I hope to improve.  What can you come up with?  Post your stories in the Comments section, and remember:  no more than six words, and no less.  Keep it clean!

****************************************************

 

Silent cat.  Owner trips, breaks ankle.

Gas tank empty.  Long walk ahead.

“Rough draft.  I’ll call him ‘Adam.'”

“Pay up.”  “I’m broke.”  “Kneecap him!”

 Heavy snow.  Branch fell.  New car.

Raging storm.  Tree fell.  New roof.

Soccer giveaway:  Everyone’s having a ball.

Too many Christmas lights.  Blackout.  Candles.

Famous last words:  “He doesn’t bite.”

Jogger on the beach.  Lightning strikes.

 Failed at haiku.  Too many words.

Mom read my diary.  I’m busted.

****************************************************

And now, a 6-part 6-word story:

Triple homicide. Testimony given. Verdict: guilty.

Death sentence. One problem: witness lied.

Retrial ordered. Tainted jury. Guilty again.

DNA evidence presented. Governor orders reprieve.

Lab error. Samples switched. Heads roll.

Too late.  Killer on the loose.

About SAS Fiction Girl

Writer of short fiction because I don't have the attention span to write anything longer.
This entry was posted in Homework, SAS Exclusive and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Six-word Stories

  1. Patti says:

    Oh, you’re good at this, Jennifer!

  2. I’ve got a few for ya:
    Bumped table, spilled paint. Accidental masterpiece.

    Home alone. Footsteps upstairs. Run screaming.

    Dog peed on floor. I overslept.

    Eyes meet. Fifty years later, Golden Anniversary.

  3. Pingback: The Six Word Story Contest Winners | Short Attention Span Fiction

Leave a Reply

