Welcome to my little blog

     Why am I doing this? 

     I’ve been dreaming up stories since grade school.  If the teacher assigned a short story for school, I’d write an extra one for myself.  When I was 12, my goal was to become the youngest published author ever.  Then I read about a girl who had been published.  And she was younger than I.  So that dream was dashed upon the rocks of procrastination.  If only I’d begun writing at 2 or 3 years of age, I might have accomplished something.

     I did begin a story about a girl and her horse, when I was 12.  I wrote faithfully every Saturday morning in bed.  I’d write on this magnificent work of fiction for hours, stopping only when my hand cramped up and I realized I’d been awake for hours without food.  I continued writing the story well into my teens.  I loved digging the small orange spiral-bound notebook from under my bed and reading what I’d written.  I just knew this book was going to published.  So what if it didn’t become a best-seller or a Newberry Award winner?  The important thing would be that I had written a book about a girl and her horse for girls (like me) who loved horses and dreamed of owning one someday.

     Except that it was never published.  And by “never published” I mean “never finished.”  The book was awful.  It took a few years for maturity to set in so that I could read with grown-up sensibility what a mess I’d created.  It turns out that my idea of drama was fighting.  I mean near-constant arguing throughout the book,  involving every character, including characters I’d made up on the spot just to get a fight going.  I couldn’t help but wonder what that said about my childhood. 

     At the beginning of my foray into writing, my mother asked what the book was about.  She then asked how it would end.  Really?  How the h*ll would I know?  I hadn’t written the ending yet.  The thing is, my mother was writing her own book at the time, a romance novel.  I figured she knew everything there was to know about writing.  After all, she had a copy of Strunk and White’s “The Elements of Style” on the bookshelf.  I was certain only a professional writer would have that book.  And a professional writer would know that you always know how a story ends before you’ve written it.

     Ashamed to admit that I did not, in fact, know how my book would end, I made up some nonsense on the spot.  Two seconds after I was finished, I had no idea what words had come out of my mouth.  To this day I don’t know.  I never asked my mother, either, because then I’d have to admit that I’d made it all up, and wouldn’t that defeat the purpose of the lie to begin with? 

     In some small way, I blame that scene for being the reason I never ended the book.  How could I, without a genuine well-thought-out-in-advance conclusion?  In reality, the book was a garbled mess; there were too many problems to resolve through editing.  So I took a different approach:  a page-one rewrite.  Guess how far I got with that?  It’s possible the second version was worse than the first, but I haven’t had the nerve to go back and read it.

     Someday, I may publish bits and pieces of the original story for your amusement.  You can also use it as a barometer:  if you’re well over the age of 12 and your story reads like mine, please put down the pen.  Seriously. 

     A year ago, my friend Joanna introduced me to a local writers’ group.  Each month, we are given a “homework assignment” to create a written piece based on a particular phrase or idea.  The pieces are typically short, so that sharing them in class is feasible.  I’ve heard some great works by the members of the group, and I hope to share their websites with you.  The support I’ve received from Joanna, Evelyn, Patti, Susan, Sherrie, Karen, and Pam (all members of the group) has been invaluable.  Their encouragement is the main reason I’ve decided to publish my stories.  I value their feedback, but I’d also like to hear comments from an even wider audience.  What do you think of my writing? 

     Happy reading!  ~~  Jennifer

About SAS Fiction Girl

Writer of short fiction because I don't have the attention span to write anything longer.
This entry was posted in Welcome and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Welcome to my little blog

  1. Evelyn says:

    Hallelujah! She’s done it! And now her fame will be spread far and wide! Gorgeous blog! Will you help me do mine? Can you help me stop using so many exclamation marks?

    • Thank you, Evelyn! Your note on my other business blog gave me the push I needed. I’d be happy to help you with a blog. To be honest, it’s a lot of trial and error. We should grab Joanna and make it a Girls’ Day. 🙂
      -Jen

  2. joanna says:

    That’s an awesome opener! We’ve all been there 🙂 You are hilarious!

  3. suzicate says:

    YAY!!!!!! I am so excited to be able to click on here and read all your stuff! Please put the ones about the wrong suitcase and cancelled event on here. I love both of those! I know one day, I will be holding a book with your name on the cover! I’m getting ready to go on vacation, but when I get back, I will highlight your site on my blog! I’ll give you a FB shout now! I’m so proud of you for taking this step because your writing rocks!!!!

    • Thank you, Susan! I will be posting those stories that you mentioned. Be sure to subscribe so you get an e-mail when they’ve been posted.
      Thank you for your encouragement and enthusiasm. I’ll add you to my blogroll. 🙂
      -Jen
      P.S. Have a great vacation!

  4. unabridgedgirl says:

    Hey there! Suzicate directed me to your site. Your post made me laugh, especially the barometer part. Welcome to the blogosphere! Can’t wait to read more of your work. 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m happy to have a new reader. So, I’m the Short Attention Span Girl and you’re the Unabridged Girl. Apparently we are like matter and anti-matter and the universe could implode if ever we meet. Nonetheless, it is good to know you’re out there. And I love the header on your blog – beautiful!

Leave a Reply

